The joys of having a public web site
I seem to get a lot of e-mails like this, regarding either this site or my photography portfolio site.
From: Randy Smith
To: dae@davidadam.com
Sent: Thursday, October 02, 2003 12:15 PM
Subject: Request for linking to us from your resource page.
Good Afternoon:Please consider adding a link to us on your resources page:
http://www.noise-to-signal.com/
We are Foodservicedirect - a leading online supplier of restaurant supplies including cookware, glassware, bar supplies and paper supplies.
Thanks for your consideration!
Randy Smith
Marketing Services
Foodservicedirect.com
27 Forest Ave.
Locust Valley, NY 11560
Telephone: 516-759-9000
email: randy@foodservicedirect.com
url: http://no.i'm.not.going.to.link.to.you.com
They've clearly harvested a bunch of e-mails and sites and haven't bothered to target it in the least -- semi-personalized spam asking me to give them free advertising.
Which probably sounds good to a testosterone-drunk marketeer, but makes me think they're just an idiot.
Does anyone else get these asinine e-mails?
Joshua Edelstein, on Friday, October 3, 2003 at 8:36 AM:
Oh yeah. I get them all the time. And since I run about five different sites, I get them in extra helpings! Yeesh.